Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Starting a band.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Saint Michael, Apr 3, 2004.

1. How soon is it recommended to start a band? Also, is it wise to start out with musicians that are or close to the same experience level as you are? I've been playing for a few months and am learning the theory. I think I may be ready to try to get something organized around this December. I'm not sure what genre to focus on, but I am interested in being able to play everything and lean toward a funk/fusion type of music. I feel that it is important for me to start playing with others. I am serious and planning to take this as far as it will go.

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    i believe you should play with as many people as you can - as soon as you possibly can - and that theres no such thing as being "ready". i just posted in another similar thread that i've known actors who waited until they were "ready" and wound up as stage managers. i've known bands that have waited until they were "ready" and either never played out, or when they finally did got scared right back into their rehearsal corners. playing with other people has helped me to grow in leaps and bounds. i say play with whoever you can, and shoot for musicians who are better than you. if you're comitted and they know it they may give you some leeway and you'll grow in your playing exponentially. if you've got friends at the same level as you or that's all you can find now, then do that. i say just do it though.