Sterling by Music Man Ray34CA (2011-2014) vs Ray24CA (2017-present)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Matt Mallet, Mar 13, 2021.

1. Matt Mallet

Matt Mallet

Mar 13, 2021
    Hey everyone,

I’m fairly new to this site so forgive me if this question has already been answered somewhere else. I’ve been playing bass for 6-7 years now and have only ever owned 2 Fender MIM’s (jazz and dimension5) and a Squier (P), but I’m curious about getting myself a stingray. Currently, a genuine American-made EBMM is way out of my price range, but from what I’ve read about the Indonesian-made SBMM’s they are quite the bang for your buck and have heard that the Ray34 is comparable to Fender’s MIM line in regards to build and sound quality.

I’m particularly curious about the Classic Actives (Ray24/34CA), but also looking at the Ray34. I went to my local shop and tried out the Ray4 as it was the only one they had in stock and was, well, unimpressed to say the least – it’s not bad for the price tag but it plays more like my Squier than either of my MIM Fenders. I’ve heard that the 24/34 series are a big step up from the SUB series, but am curious to know what the differences are between the three models (Ray34, Ray34CA and Ray24CA). If anyone has experience playing specifically both of the Classic Active SBMM’s please let me know what significant differences there are as I’ve had quite a hard time finding information about them. Where I’m at the Ray24CA sells for ~750CAD (plus taxes), but I’ve also found a Ray34CA used for ~800 and a Ray34 used for ~900 – which one would you guys recommend and why?

Thanks!

2. 58kites

58kites Save a life....adopt a Pitbull

Oct 21, 2014
    Austin Texas
    The older Ray34CA.
    Built better, the like the neck finish and it has a nice two-band pre.

Matt Mallet and shojii like this.
  3. shojii

shojii

Sep 7, 2011
    +1 this. And the 24CA has the same eq as the Sub4. It’s a shame the 34CA was discontinued. It was a real sleeper...