Stomp Under Foot New Pedal: Dirty Rooster

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Laurent, May 10, 2012.

1. Laurent

Laurent Supporting Member

May 21, 2008
    Napa, California
    Matt at Stomp under Foot (SUF) just release his own take on the Colorsound Jumbo Tonebender and the pedal came in the mail today.

Here are my first impressions.

It's no secret that I have been a huge fan of SUF Civil War Muff. In fact after going through an insane pile of fuzz pedals, the Civil War pedal came out on the top with the Swollen Pickle and the Fuzzrocious Grey Stache. These three represent my current best of the best and I like them for different reasons and different amp pairing.

I was pretty excited when Matt announced he had been working on a Jumbo Tonebender. I liked Barber's take on the Jumbo Tonebander (it's one of the three fuzz flavor available on a superb pedal called Trifecta) but I have no direct experience with vintage versions of this pedal.

Anyways after an hour of testing or so I can attest that the new Dirty Rooster is a fabulous pedal. Long story short, I like it as much if not more than the Grey Stache and the Civil War. I did not test the Swollen Pickle against it because the Swollen Pickle is a completely different animal.