1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String change has put my intonation all over the place.

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by jazzyvee, Mar 27, 2021.

1. jazzyvee

jazzyvee

Aug 11, 2012
    United Kingdom
    I'm still a beginner and for a while now the first two fingered notes on my A,D,G strings on my EUB especially the A on the G-string have an unpleasant and uncomfortable buzz under my fingers when playing that note. I don't get it anywhere else except those strings and it does not seem to appear on the output that I can hear in my amp.
    But I decided to re-string the bass with some D'addario Low Tension strings (no idea what the model name is), that were previously on my old acoustic double bass when I had it set up. I removed them when I sold it as they were expensive and hardly used.

Anyway these strings are much more flexible, less tension and more comfortable under my fingers. However, now my notes are not where they were previously like the intonation has gone off. Should I angle the bridge to adjust the speaking length of the string in order to get the notes to work or should I just be re-learing the intonation and keep the bridge where it is ?

At the moment I am tempted to put the previous strings back on and live with the buzz.
    Any advice will be gratefuily received.

2. Videojunkie

Videojunkie

Jan 19, 2021
    Omaha, NE USA
    Check your bridge to make sure it hasn't moved when you changed the strings.

Michael Drost and nbsipics like this.
  3. bherman

bherman Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2009
    Grand Junction, CO