1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

string height - buzz

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by nathanmcnathan, Mar 17, 2008.

1. nathanmcnathan

nathanmcnathan Banned

Jan 25, 2008
    Barrie, Ontario
    Hey everybody! I just got a new bass a while ago, and the shop I got it from lowered the action for me. It's a LOT easier to play now, only problem is that they lowered the height on the G string WAY more than the other strings. (I'll upload a photo later) There isn't any problem when I'm playing soft, but when I play even a little harder with my right hand(I prefer the tone and feel) I get this horrible buzz on the area between C and C# on the G. I don't really want to spend money for a new bridge, I'm just a student and don't have any disposable income:( - any suggestions?:confused:

THANKS!!!

2. Sounds like you may have a high spot on the fingerboard. I would suggest you take it to a good bass luthier and have them check it out. If it is minor, it may not cost much to fix. If it is a bigger problem and the entire board needs to be planed, it could be a more sizable expense.

3. nathanmcnathan

nathanmcnathan Banned

Jan 25, 2008
    Barrie, Ontario
    I've already checked - the fingerboard looks really good, near perfect. I think the problem might just be the lower action on the G compared to the other strings. Know of any ways to fix without spending a lot?

4. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    Take it back to the shop and show them the problem. Let them take care of it.

And fill out your profile when you have a minute. :)

5. When you say perfect, do you mean perfectly flat? The fingerboard is supposed to be cambered (scooped).

6. nathanmcnathan

nathanmcnathan Banned

Jan 25, 2008
    Barrie, Ontario