1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

strings slapping on frets

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by afterthoughts, Apr 13, 2006.

1. afterthoughts

afterthoughts

Apr 13, 2006
    Hi ive been playing bass in our band for about 3 months or so and can competently play with my fingers, however i just got my new bass, an ESP b-154, and when i play harder or try to jump around the strings slap on the metal frets (not sure if this is the correct term) making an irritating clanging noise. does anyone else have these problems and is there anything i can do to increase the basses tollerance to harder playing (like a thickker string that i can tighten more, just guessing here) or is it simply that this bass isnt right for me?
    thanks

2. ghorvers

ghorvers

Dec 22, 2005
    This seems to have more to do with technique than with your equipment. I had this problem as well, especially when I started out. I sometimes still find I'm playing too hard, using way too much strength. Try and practice playing with a softer attack. Turn your amp up if you feel you need to. You will allow yourself to play cleaner and longer. Once you have mastered playing softer you will find it also becomes easier to gain speed.

It's probably not the bass, but you might want to get it checked out and get the action adjusted. By all means, change the strings if you don't like the way they play and sound. That is a personal choice. Still, I would work try and clean up your technique before changing the strings.

Cheers,
    Geert

3. afterthoughts

afterthoughts

Apr 13, 2006
    Hi,
    thanks very much for your reply,
    i generally do play gentler but when we are performing when i move aroudn and stuff i cant help but play harder, as a guitarist would strum larger etc. its just a bad habbit i suppose.