Strong and weak beats, passing and chord tones

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by DuluthDank, Apr 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. I've been transcribing a lot of jazz solos over the last few years, dates ranging from the 1910's up through the early 60's (skipping over modal jazz so far). I've gotten to the point where in my mind I pretty much conceptualize everything in terms of passing tones and chord tones and how they relate to the strong and weak beats of the bar. The funny thing is that I started playing bass guitar in a punk band (haven't played bass guitar in about 15 years!) and I'm sitting here transcribing Matt Freeman (of the band Rancid) bass solos, and still I'm able to conceptualize his lines in this same way. Do others here find that they take the feel (of strong/weak beats, passing/chord tones) developed from creating bebop-style lines and employ them in non-jazz styles? I expect that this can give a person an advantage moving between styles of music, as I get the impression that it relates to something somewhat universal in lots of music, yet many people in other styles are never forced to internalize it in to the degree that jazz improvisers usually are. Does this makes sense to anybody else?

2. Rompin Roddy

Rompin Roddy

Jun 29, 2016
    Tacony
    No, but you've certainly piqued my curiosity haha.

3. This is just about how I look at playing any style. Theory is theory, no matter the genre!

4. Walking bass is certainly a staple of jazz, blues, and country, but I wouldn’t have thought it had any presence in punk.

I have spent a lifetime playing jazz and Top 40/Pop/Rock, and I feel there is little crossover between them.

5. I'd argue that statement. To me, I have the same thoughts going through my head be it; walking bass, a rock bassline, a solo, or what have you. And that thought is just chord tones and passing tones,all day and all night.

mtto and DuluthDank like this.
  6. Rompin Roddy

Rompin Roddy

Jun 29, 2016
    Tacony