Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Supernils installation

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by iPlay15151515, Mar 31, 2005.

1. Does anyone know where I can find a step by step guide to changing the strings on my UB? This is my first time, and the Supernil strings have no instructions.

My bass measures 41.5 inches from nut to bridge, but the strings seem much too long, and would leave a mess in the peg box if they aren't cut or shortened.

It would seem logical to shorten the strings by adjusting the length at the tailpiece end by retying the knot behind the brass washer in a different position and then cutting off the excess.

I assume the colored winding on each end of the string has a purpose like identification and/or to prevent unraveling, but it's not clear.

Also, each string has a short piece of plastic tubing. It appears to be heat shrink tubing. Does this go on the strings where they cross the bridge to reduce friction when tuning?

2. Check David Gage's site, I believe there is a link to an article he wrote with all the juicy details.

3. Thanks T.

I found David's site and read all of his bass articles. He has some good information.

I think the articles answered most of my questions.

My Supernil string are very long and the colored threads on the tailpiece end extend almost to the bridge.

Is it ok to reposition the knot in the tailpiece end in order to increase the distance between the colored threads and the bridge?

This will also help reduce some the extra string on the nut end.

Is it ok to cut off the excess on both ends?

I understand the need to leave some extra so the tailpiece can be adjusted if necessary, but if I leave all of the excess, I will have a rat's nest in my peg box.

4. Mods:

Is this topic in the correct forum or does it belong in Setup and Repair?