Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sustain

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Spirit Fingers, Nov 21, 2003.

1. Spirit Fingers

Spirit Fingers

Nov 21, 2003
    I'm new to bass playing (6 months). I have a Fender Mex P-Bass and an Ashdown Mag 250 Combo. I want to achieve more sustain when I playing slow, simple songs - do I need a compressor pedal? If so, which one?

2. NV43345

NV43345

Apr 1, 2003
    Check out www.bossus.com they have an interactive
    pedal board and you can try out the effect units.

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    [​IMG]

Groove Tubes Fat Finger is what I use.

4. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    Having a graphite neck can help.

I don't know of any effect that will give you more sustain (a compressor can give you a sense of more sustain, but the settings you will need to use to achieve that will suck your tone big time).

5. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Try playing more over the neck of the bass. Play between where the neck joins the body, and where the end of the fingerboard is. That area will give you a smoother, fatter ballad type tone, and will help with sustain. Playing in that area gives the notes more of a swell and will make the note ring more, hence more sustain.

6. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    Oh, you could also try raising your action. That can help too.

7. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD