1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Switch popping noise, I found a way to fix it

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by gimmeagig, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Hi,
    I am relatively new to the world of pedal boards. I put one together that works really well for me.
    This is the order I had them in.
    EBS Multi comp.Mooer Tender Octaver.Boss CEB-3 bass chorus,TC Flashback and HOF
    There was a problem with the Mooer Octaver.
    The on off switch made a super loud popping sound.Totally unusable on a gig.
    I pulled the pedal out of the board and used it on it's own and the switch was completely silent.
    So I ended up changing the order of the pedals and sure enough that fixed it. I'm so glad because the Mooer octaver is a pedal that sounds reallly great.
    Now I have a pedal order that may be a bit strange. I arranged them in this order because of the input and output locations of the different pedals.The way I have it, the pedals fit on the board perfectly. The compressor is now in the middle, but I think it's still OK.I don't notice anything strange when I use the pedals in this combination.
    Mooer Octaver,TC Flashback, EBS Multicomp,Boss Chorus and TC HOF.

2. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    Hello. With all due respect... :)

What you described was not a technical fix, but behavioral modification. You didn't fix the bug that was a by-product of the relationship of the two given pedals in that one order; rather you obviated the bug by changing the order.

Nonetheless, congratulations on discovering a new signal chain order that you like!

3. Dude you sound like Bill O'Reilley...Obloviating (isn't that the word he likes?)....LOL

The reason I posted this was not to pointlessly argue with somebody over semantics.