Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

SWR LA15 - Pros and Cons

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by PlayBass, Aug 28, 2005.

1. PlayBass

PlayBass

Aug 20, 2005
    I was recently looking at the SWR LA15 which is 100watts. I have never tried this amp before. This amp does not have XLR out and that's the only thing I am concerned with. I play worship with an audience from 200-300, is practical?

http://swrsound.com/products/search.php?partno=4490000000

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    You can do much better for the money. The SWR "LA" series is SWR's cheapest line, designed and manufactured to meet a price point for the market as opposed to designed for sound.

If that is all you can afford, it is fine. But look around for other amps in your price range, and compare the sound to the LA series. I think you'll find most other amps in that price range to sound superior.

Were it me, I'd find a used Peavey combo with a 15" speaker in it. Not glamorous, but sound good and are built like tanks.

3. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Pros: Reliable, as in you will always be able to rely on it to sound like poo!

Cons: Pretty much everything about it.

4. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005
    Stuart,Florida
    hmm I like it... I have been playing it ever day for the past 3 days just so i can get an idea of what it will normally sound like with different guitars. In fact i'm picking mine up this wednesday. this is the first post i've found that has had bad comments about it.

5. brothernewt

brothernewt Some people call me the stormtrooper of love...

Apr 13, 2004
    Happyrock, OR