1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SX Ursa 2 6-String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by frrrosty, Jan 21, 2017.

1. frrrosty

frrrosty

Jan 18, 2012
    So, I recently purchased a SX Ursa 2 MN NA 6-string from Rondo Music, and want to share some facts and findings. First off, It's a great bass for the money. I've been playing Fender P and Jazz basses for 40 years, and while I won't go so far as to say it's as good as a Fender, I will say the SX is a playable bass, and at this point probably my favorite guitar.

I saw it being offered for $160, and couldn't pass it by. I looks a lot like my 2011 Fender DJB, and the wood is gorgeous. Real American Swamp Ash, Maple neck, I cannot fault the woodwork. Near perfect poly finish.

Construction is solid, the bass feels like it will be around for a hundred years. The only cheeez factor I can find is the neck plate, it's a standard 2" x 2.5" four-string plate, not really big enough. I can't find a bigger one though, and it still feels solid.

Can't use postimg, can't use imgsafe, can't use ANY of the regular hosts, only metadata sites. Can't access the BB code, or HTML, or whatever the hell they use.

Dual Truss Rods - this was a welcome surprise. They adjust at the headstock, making life a little easier.

This bass is 14-1/2" wide, so be careful in choosing a case. I strongly recommend you get the case when you buy the guitar, it will save on shipping, protect the guitar, and you know it will fit. Besides, the case Rondo sells with this bass is about the lowest price anywhere for a case, and it's a perfectly sound generic case. I think it's $60, and it fits the bass. You will definitely want one, this bass is a keeper!