Tailpiece Inside Wood Cracking

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mksolid, Jan 18, 2006.

1. mksolid

Jan 4, 2005
    Hello all. I just got a double bass today and I guess I accidentally bumped the tailpiece on something and if I shine light down inside the bass the wood is slightly cracking up around where the tailpiece pole comes up into the body. Does this generally eventually happen to everyone? I mean, everyone can't be perfect at handling these things, right? :eek:
  2. Charles Shores

Charles Shores Commercial User

Jul 26, 2005
    Charlotte, NC
    Owner: Guitar Barre
    I hope im wrong, but it sounds like your endblock is cracked.
  3. mksolid

Jan 4, 2005
    Well to better describe it... here is what I see

I look down inside the f holes and I see the (im brand new to double bass so I dont know any terminology) pole extending straight up from the bottom of the body of the bass... the pole seems to be connecting to the tailpiece which is ebony and lets the bass stand up properly. Right around where the tailpiece is... I guess.. mounted into the body, the wood around it is "chipping up". Like there's flakes of it starting to stick up. The tailpiece is still in there rock solid. I laid the bass down and examined it and it is held in very well..
  4. mksolid

Jan 4, 2005
    Hmm I guess it's technically where the endpin connects.
  5. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Those flakes might be left over from the reaming of the end pin.

Some Terminology For You:
    The tailpiece is the piece of wood that accepts the ball end of the string. This is attached to the end pin with a piece of cable or wire. The end pin is the thing that you balance the bass on. The bottom block is the piece of wood that the endpin is mounted in.