Tales of simplicity.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Droog, Oct 5, 2005.

1. Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    Thought I would start a thread about instances of the efficacy of simplicity. You know the times when plug and play actually worked great. Got a couple stories to share.

Back when I was attending the engineering school I went to I had a session before I graduated. We had been tracking for 6 hours or so. Well rehearsed folky three piece. 2 Acoustic guitars, an electric violin (mic'd it anyway) and vox all tracking together in a nice room. Udu was over dubbed as were some back up vox. So we had done all of this in about 6 hours, pretty good imo, the musicians were really good, which made me look good. So the main musician is pretty much calling it a night when he starts messing with a bass line on his acoustic, but did not want to do because, well it was a guitar. So I said what if I get you a bass? Ok he says. So I run out and find this kid I saw packing around a crappy Hondo bass. He agrees. I get back to the studio, greated with a suprised look. I jack it straight into a Neve 1272 then into Manley Pultec EQ then straight to tape. He nailed it in one take and the song was all the better for it. In fact the instructers kept our tape to show as an example to other students.

Ok, this one was more recent. A good friend of mine wanted to record a few songs of his with better than average production. I have pretty good in with a local studio so I scored us some free time. We tracked, Vox, Acoustic GTR, GTR, Drums and Bass all on a 8 track ADAT. When it came to bass he pulls out his old P bass and I run it right into a Telefunken V72 and then straight to ADAT. He still talks about that bass tone.

Kinda long winded, but I would like to hear stories you guys have to share.
  2. WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az