Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Talk me out of a Dingwall AB1

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BurningSkies, May 8, 2005.

1. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    So, I'm really dying for a Dingwall AB1. I've been playing 4 strings for about 15 years, and have been thinking about 5's for the past year or so.

My reasoning is like this:
    -I play reggae, and wouldn't mind being able to drop a B-string bomb every now and then.

-Our lead singer keeps asking to cover modern soul/reggae songs that are mostly below low E, and we do a bunch of dancehall that would normally have keyboard bass below low E.

-I find using the pickup as a thumb rest is not really doing for me, but I love resting on a string when playing.

-I find the tension of A, D, and G strings great, but haven't found a low B I like, nor, do I find my E's (all 34 scale) to be tight enough for quick (16th note and faster) playing.

-I tend to like playing across the neck, staying in one place rather than up/down the neck.

-I don't mind a bit of flash...if you've seen my other basses, their mostly solid finishes and pretty restrained.

Soooo...one of the big bass-only retailers is listing a nice looking used AB1 with flame maple...it appears to be less than half list price of a new one. They do have a 'trial period' in case I hate it. I do have a rainy day fund, and I've been experiencing a period of non-financial rain in my life that this would be a great distraction from as well as a nice addition to my playing.

Yer job is to tell me why I shouldn't do this...or tell me why it's a great idea.

Help a brotha out!

2. I say go for it. I tried a used blue AB-1 at Bass Central awhile back. It played amazing. In fact, it was one of, if not my favorite bass that day.

3. BurningSkies

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY