1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The best bass head for $800 or under

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by afrodillyb, May 8, 2010.

1. afrodillyb

afrodillyb

May 8, 2010
    I have an Ampeg SVT810AV Anniversary Bass Cabinet but I need to find the perfect head for it. Since I am a dirt poor college student, I do not have enough money to buy an expensive head and I am not sure what kind of head will give me a great vintage tube like sound for that price. If there is any tube amps for that price, I would like to know about the as well :)

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Traynor and Peavey are the only "budget" tube amps I know of. Otherwise, there's way too much out there for a blanket recomendation.

3. orange bass terror. also, I'll sell you the tube amp in my sig for $800, shipped. :ninja:

4. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    VB-2, cannt beat it for the price

5. mrjim123

mrjim123 Supporting Member

May 17, 2008
    Indy
    LOL. If you've got $800 to spend you're not a "dirt poor college student" (been there, done that). :)

6. afrodillyb

afrodillyb

May 8, 2010
    Well the head I want is 1700 :/ but I will never make that money with the job I have now.
    Thanks for all the help! I will look into every single head that was posted.

7. Bassman7PM

Bassman7PM

Mar 13, 2006
    Chicago, IL
    Carvin B1500. Power to spare and awesome tone.

8. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    I just got a new in box 5 year warrenty VB-2 for $499.00 I watched that Orange on eBay for a while & was saving for it when I found the Peavey

9. wow. Killer deal. Care to PM the info? No wonder my alpha bass isn't selling.

10. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA