1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

the misleading P/J concept (Wilbur Bascomb)...

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by williamk, Jul 27, 2012.

1. williamk

williamk

Apr 2, 2008
    hi all
    my all time favorite bass tone is the one that Wilbur Bascomb has (look him up if you don't know him, he's amazing). Here are perfect examples of his tone and style:

these are excerpts from the movie Hair; if you have the CD soundtrack, it'll obviously sound better than these youtube videos, but you'll get the general idea by listening to these.

To me it's the perfect bass sound, that fits remarkably well in the mix and seems to fit any style (if you listen to the whole Hair soundtrack, you will see what I mean).

As a bassist, I have tried for years to try and emulate his sound and playing style, and have done a lot of research to see what gear he used; there is surprisingly little info on this guy (what a shame, he's genius!). However, I discovered that he played a fender p-bass (so far that was pretty obvious) but I've played many p-basses and I could not sound quite like this. I also later discovered that apparently he had a j-bass pickup installed at the bridge, which might explain that extra "nasal" quality.

I then bought my first P/J...and that worked even less! Is it just me or when a p PU and j PU are played together, the sound is terrible? No mids at all, impossible to cut in any mix.
    Was my bass just a bad one (an aerodyne with upgraded PU's)? Maybe a better match of specific PU's works better? Is the P/J sound a scooped/muddy one?

What's the secret to this guy's tone? He doesn't use flats because there's a lot of slap. It sounds like a p-bass with an extra kick, but I have yet to hear a good P/J sound. Any P/J guys out there to help?