Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

These pickups annoy me!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Phunky, Sep 9, 2004.

1. Phunky

Phunky Guest

Aug 1, 2004
    Sweden
    I'm pretty new to bass and the thing that is bothering me is these kind of pickups:

http://www.hangszeraruhaz.hu/images/basszus/yamahabb2004.jpg

What are they called? Anyway... it's just like there is a huge gap when going to the G and D string, and i like when i feel when the pickup beneath you, it is like i can play faster then.... how is it for you?

2. FaBu-

FaBu-

Jan 16, 2004
    Finland
    It's a precision pickup.

3. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    If they annoy you, you can easily trade it in for a bass with jazz pickups (the long skinny bars) or a bass with soapbar pickups.

4. Phunky

Phunky Guest

Aug 1, 2004
    Sweden
    is there anybody that agrees with me or what:) i'm kinda not able to change pickups nor bass right now and i was wondering how people with precision-pickups deal with it:p

5. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    I suggest that you practice. Nothing you mentioned can't be fixed with a little practice. You need to learn to move your right hand to other positions. You can gain new sounds by simply moving your plucking hand closer or farther from the bridge.

6. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Its best not to even touch the pickup when you are playing as that can cause noise.

7. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    Don't be offended, but I think it's mostly in your head. I don't believe that you're actually faster when the pickup is below your plucking fingers or pick.