Things bassist hate.

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by yaboiimizz, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yaboiimizz

yaboiimizz

Apr 28, 2010
    So i dunno if theres been a thread like this before, but there was one over on UG so i thought id bring one here.

Pretty simple what do you hate as a bassist, i'll start:

Cost of strings
    People thinking bass is easy
    gui****s
    Sound guys

Ok go..

2. LowBC

LowBC Commercial User

Nov 17, 2008
    Music Go Round - Aurora, CO (owner) We buy used gear!
    The sound guy will be your friend as soon as you understand that what you hear onstage has nothing to do with how it sounds 'in the room' and relinquish control of that to him/her.

People thinking that bass is easy, +1.

3. TrevorOfDoom

TrevorOfDoom

Jun 17, 2007
    Austin, TX
    the local university is offering an informal Beginner Bass class. It's taught by a gui****. This makes me want to punch people in the face.

4. Mark Olson

Mark Olson Inactive

Mar 19, 2008
    Michigan
    People thinking a Sansamp or any DI for that matter is an acceptable way to do my bass sound live. If I wanted to sound like garbage I'd buy garbage gear!

5. BassLife77

BassLife77

Nov 13, 2009
    San Diego
    when the keyboard player starts playing bass synth in the middle of a song :rollno:

6. DenisKrestsov

DenisKrestsov

May 4, 2010
    People thinking bass is easy for sure, also the lack of bass knowledge at my local music store, every single person there plays guitar and doesnt know anything about bass

7. flyingfinbar

flyingfinbar Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2010
    Long Island, New York
    Drummers that overplay, yet can't hold a simple 4/4 to a metronome:spit:

8. pclarkbassman

pclarkbassman

Mar 8, 2008
    Utah
    as a bassist, I hate it when upper strings compare bass technique to cello technique and say it's the same. I also hate it when I'm carrying my bass and people say "I bet you wish now that you picked the flute!"