1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Thinking about switching to the low side. . . (help with gear)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Texabama, Jun 30, 2012.

1. Texabama

Texabama

Jun 30, 2012
    First I'd like to apologize if you guys find topics like this annoying and clutter. Been reading this site for the past couple days and never saw anything regarding beginner gear so I'm dropping in.

So I've been playing guitar for quite a few years and it's been fun, but lately I've been feeling like I'm missing out on something better lower down, so I'm deciding on picking up some new gear and getting started learning the bass. Problem is I know next to nothing about reputable gear on the cheaper end of the market for this stuff.

For the bass my budget is around $300, I think that should be enough to get a top tier beginner bass. However, I would be willing to sway from that if there is something really highly recommended (I've got resources). My music influences are really all over the place, from ska to funk and even some progressive rock. One bass I've been looking at is the Ibanez SR300. It's in the budget and seems like good quality for the money. Though I'm not particularly thrilled about having active pick-ups. Thoughts? Other suggestions?

As for an amp, no real budget. Just looking for a good practice amp, nothing more nothing less. Something that will last and doesn't sound like garbage. One of my favorite practice amps for guitar is the Fender Mustang 1, sounds great and love how it came with all the varying presets like a bunch of built in pedals. Anything like that for bass? And speaking of pedals, should the ones I already own for guitar be fine or should I probably invest in ones designed for bass?