Tips for a beginner's purchase

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Raskolnikov, Apr 20, 2005.

1. Raskolnikov

Apr 20, 2005

I am looking to buy an amp for rehearsals and perhaps even live shows. I really have no idea what is 'good' and what is not and I don't even know what kind of amp I should get. I've been using a 15 watts amp for the last 5 years (I was just playing on my own, not in a band), but now that I will play in a Metal band, so I need a better amp (obviously). I was told that a 80 Watts or 100 Watts amp would be enough, but some other people told me otherwise. I'd like to pay max. $350 for one. Any brands to consider and some to avoid?

Thanks alot!

2. hetsscaryguy

May 22, 2004
    whats amps are your guitarists using? and what power are they puttingout? and how loud is your drummer?
  3. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Play a lot of amps. Pick one you really click with. $350 will not get much new, you will do better in the used market. Do not expect to be able to do much even there volume wise. 80 to 100 watts is nothing in the world of bass, a 100 watt bass amp will get drowned out by a 20 watt guitar amp. It just takes a lot more power to push out low end. For a metal band I would say 500 watts is the minimum and that will get you an amp suitable only for jamming with the rare guitarist and drummer who play only as loud as they absolutly must. With your standard issu "mesa cranked to 11" metal guitarists you'll need closer to 1000 to practice and still will likely need PA support at gigs.
  4. that's not true, i see this metal band that's loud as hell called "undercut" and they use mesa dual rectifiers, and the bassist uses an swr 750x and it's fine.
  5. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    And he probably has a PA behind him. PA support changes everything. There are some rigs out there that can go watt for watt with a raging mesa, but its pretty rare.
  6. Raskolnikov

Apr 20, 2005