1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tonight's the night!!!!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Freight Train, May 18, 2012.

1. Freight Train

Freight Train Earth-based Alternative Scientist, Sex Researcher

Feb 25, 2012
    Dallas, Texas
    Tonight my new band plays its first gig. Just to confide in my bass bro's, this is my first time on stage in almost 20 years. I started picking out bass lines on an acoustic guitar in 1966 at age 13, by the time I was 16 I had a Tele bass and a 6x15 Standel rig, and by '72 I had earned my nickname Freight Train. It was balls to the wall until 1990 when I started my mastering business, and around 1992 it got so busy I just had to put playing aside, plus I didn't want to play in loud bands out of respect for my ears. But now I see retirement looming on the horizon, so it's time to start playing again. I hate to admit it, but I hadn't even taken my basses out their cases in 18 years. But I was totally amazed how starting again was like riding the proverbial bike - hand didn't cramp, calluses came right back no problem, and the drummer assures me I'm not pushing or pulling. It helps of course that I am playing with a monster drummer, Bryan Wakeland, who was in Tripping Daisy, Fever in the Funkhouse and the Polyphonic Spree. Bryan is master of the 'super lazy drawl', which means he sits ever so slightly just behind the beat, and it creates just an amazing groove. IMO the mark of a true musician vs. 'just a drummer'. Tonight is going to be so much fun, but this is going to be the longest day ever.
    I know no one is really interested in this, but my bass weenie is vibrating like crazy, and I just had to tell someone.

2. "break a leg!"

Post later how it went.

3. We'll need details in the morning!!

4. Wesley R

Wesley R Gold Supporting Member

Way cool, way cool indeed!

5. cableguy

cableguy