Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Trombonists Unite!!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Wolfman200, Oct 8, 2005.

1. Hey, I just wanted to see who else on the board plays trombone. I've seen a couple hanging out in the background of some bass pictures.

I've been playing for about 7 years and right now I'm a freshman at University of Maryland College Park majoring in music performance on t-bone.

Anyone else studying trombone or playing it professionally?

2. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Sorry, I don't play trombone, but I want to say that I like that instrument a lot and that I'm a HUGE fan of Christian Lindberg, easily the best trombone player in the world. I have some of his CDs and I'd like to have a video of him playing the "Motorbike Concerto", which was the piece he played the first and only time I saw him in action. He simply blew my mind.

3. But a close friend(also primarily a bassist)blows trombone. My brother played in school(jr high). I like it- do I get half-credit? :rolleyes:

4. A Christian Lindberg fan? Awesome! Do you have any Joe Alessi? I personally prefer him, but Lindberg is the god of recorded trombone classical music.

Bassteban, you only get credit if you paid to go to a concert he was in. He needs your money:)

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I played it in middle school band for a little while. Incidentally, I had a dream last night where I sat in on my middle school's band playing trombone.

6. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

No, Wolf. I don't know Joe Alessi. Can you give me further info? BTW, Christian Lindberg's version of the Arthur Pryor tune called "Blue Bells Of Scotland" is one of the most exquisite trombone performances I've ever heard.