Tuning a 5 string bass differently.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Kev555, Dec 27, 2007.

1. Kev555

Kev555

Dec 27, 2007
    Hello,

How bad would it be to tune a 5-string bass EADGB? Would there be any out of tune notes? Would there be anything noticable?

How bad would it be to tune a 6-string bass EADGBE? Again, same questions...?

Well, you probably guessed I'm a guitarist. I'm studying jazz guitar at college and since I already know my arpeggios and all the notes on the neck, why not pick up a third instrument and add two strings I'm already familiar with? No one else would notice exept me, right?

2. It works fine. The low E gets a bit floppy, but you can do it and it will sound ok.

3. 98dvl

98dvl

Jan 31, 2002
    USA
    Dumb question, but why does the low E get floppy? Seems like if that's the case, the low E on a 5er tuned BEADG would be floppy too, right?

4. ThunderGod

ThunderGod

Dec 6, 2007
    I believe the preferred tuning would be EADGC. This way, it maintains continuity in tuning (4ths) and all intervals stay similar to the rest of the fingerboard.

5. EduardoK

EduardoK

Jun 28, 2004
    I'd say you can easily try both. I prefer EADGC (I believe most bassist would agree) but being a guitarist is reason enough to try EADGB as you'll find it more familiar. Nothing wrong with that, maybe you'll have to try different string gouges/tension for the right B...
    As for EADGBE, sounds pretty cool to me too :bassist:

6. EADG mx

EADG mx

Jul 4, 2005
    it doesn't

TS there's nothing wrong with it at all. The only difficulty of those tunings are finding the right strings, and getting the setup right after making the switch.

7. DavePlaysBass

DavePlaysBass

Mar 31, 2004
    CO
    I have thought about tuning in D on a 5 string (D-G-C-F-Bb), but have not gotten around to it.

8. Kev555

Kev555

Dec 27, 2007