1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Turning a passive bass active

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Hippos Melas, Apr 22, 2010.

1. There is only one reason behind this...

I am bored.

Well, no, that's not true. The reason I'm doing this is because I am making a bass to leave at our summer home so I can not worry about carrying my Sterling back and forth.

Bottom line, I'm taking an Ibanez GSR100EX and I want to throw a Nordstrand MM4.2 pickup in it and a John East BTB-01 2 Band Preamp as well. This makes it a decent enough bass that I won't even mind using it to record a bit.

My question is: am I going to go through way too much trouble to make this thing active? Or can I do all of those mods without too much trouble? I've got no experience with modding or electronics or anything, but I've always wanted to give this a shot.

2. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009
    Should be fairly easy mod so long as they come with good instructions and diagrams for wireing. When I did my last preamp install. I got all the wires hooked together ready for soldering all of them in one go first. Double checked that had em all done right for where to go. Then soldered em all and tape wrapped all the wire to wire solder connections. Took about a half hour to install 2-band basslines blackout preamp with the stacked bass/treble pot. Did have to slightly widen the hole for pot shaft thru guitar body. After checked everything for fit. Did the wire connections. Then soldered everything then taped. Then tried it out. Worked fine so put cavity cover back on. Did add a 1/4 inch hole to it away from the mounting screws to make removal of cover easier for battery changes.

3. LotusCarsLtd52

LotusCarsLtd52

Dec 6, 2009
    What about the opposite, taking an active bass passive? I like MusicMen except for the fact that none of them are passive.