1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Typical procedure for flying with a bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Franny, Jun 2, 2011.

1. I'm a high school senior from Washington State, and plan on flying down to Dallas, Texas in August of this year as I start attending UNT. I'm very new to shipping my bass any way other than comfortably in a car, and would like to ask which are your favorite airlines, favorite ways to take the bass with you, favorite cases, concerns when flying, etc. Honestly any help at all with this would be greatly appreciated.

(I'm currently trying to figure out flying, but if a road trip or shipping a bass are better options, I would love to know.)

Thank you!

2. rjspear

rjspear Commercial User

Apr 23, 2011
    Ithaca, New York
    Luthier, owner Singing Woods Violin Shop
    I might not be the best one on the forum to reply, but my strong feeling is (after years of repairing damaged basses) that if the bass goes out of your care, custody, and control at any point along the route, you definitely want it in a hardshell case or a trunk.

3. samc2527

samc2527

Nov 21, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Buy a flight case and ship it, you won't have to deal with carrying it around and it'll be cheaper...flying into dallas using delta would actually be delta connection...which charges $150 or you have to buy a seat for it, if it can't fit in their tiny ass compartments.

4. Thank you! Is Delta a pretty good airline? I've heard good things about Southwest for shipping basses.

5. You could always take a train. It'd take longer, of course, but it may be less of a hassle.