Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Umm...Ohms? Ehh..help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pawn, Aug 20, 2005.

1. Pawn

Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    Hello..im new to Guitar amps. Im going to get a used Peavey 115 amp. I understand that it is 200 watts in to 2 ohms, and 150 watts in to 4 ohms, what the hell does this mean? Does this mean i could hook up 2 4 ohm cabs and get an extra 200 watts? or 2 8 ohm cabs and get an extra 150 watts? Please help because i have no clue what this means. :eyebrow:

2. No. On all counts. Check out the Sticky, and/or the search function.

3. Warwick player

Warwick player

Dec 31, 2002
    Bucks, UK
    Hiya,

I taken it you're new to Talkbass.com as well as amplifiers.

What Bassline Delux is trying to say is that this topic is covered quite a lot on here so check out the sticky at the top of the page about using the search function.

Type in Ohms and cabs and some previous threads will probably come up with your answer. If you're still in trouble PM and i'll see if i can help

Cheers and Beers

Andy

4. Pawn

Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    emm..i did..the stickys didnt really cover it..and if i search for ohm ill get tons of threads

5. its a combo amp, you wont usually use more than one external cab, if you do you would have to daisy chain them

the 115 is 150 watts by itself, the speaker it has is 4 ohms, adding an external 4ohm speaker cabinet will lower the impedance to 2 ohms (4 ohms + 4 ohms in parallel = 2 ohms) and hence mean the amp will put out 200 watts

6. Pawn

Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    im sorry...im must of missed one of the FAQ's and now i see it. i have gone over them before. sorry for the thread.

7. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    OK, I'll take a wag at it....