1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

upright bassist moving to electric - Technique help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jarop, Sep 7, 2008.

1. jarop

jarop

Sep 7, 2008
    hi :),
    I'll try to keep the introduction as quick as possible, but basically i'm an upright bassist (playing everything from classical to jazz to rock on it) moving to an electric bass, mainly for jazz and rock. My main problem is - my technique is shocking which is causing 2 big problems.
    1) Buzzing frets - I recently purchased a yamaha RBX-375, which is a fairly decent 5-string bass. I'm playing it basically as i bought it and while i think that the somewhat terrible strings may be contributing to the buzzing fret problem (as well as incredibly low action, which i need to get fixed), i have a feeling that my technical work may be contributing to this in both right and left hands (picking or plucking). The worst contributor to this would have to be my plucking, which in all honesty is shocking when there are frets there. What would be a good way to get around this? how should i be looking to adjust my bass?
    2) Quick AND strong left hand movement - Now, i'm pretty confident with my playing around an upright, i can play virtually everything up to thumb position (only around Bb) with very strong fingers that don't collapse or anything, but i'm finding it really difficult to give my fingers the strength they need to hold down the notes properly on an electric (this links in to the first problem again), at all parts of the neck, while allowing for difficult and faster things like hammer ons and quick bending. What would be some good pointers for my left hand technique? Are there any good web lessons or videos i can look at?

Thanks (and sorry if i've missed any obvious threads pointing all this out)