1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Vacation - one week no bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Fozzie1410, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Fozzie1410

Fozzie1410

Jul 29, 2008
    Omaha, NE
    Hello, this is my first post. I'm a bass newbie (I'm coming from over 20 years experience playing the saxophone). I've been playing bass for about three months and I'm really digging learning a new instrument.

I've gotten into a routine where I've been practicing 2-3 hours on workdays and around 4-6 hours on my days off.

Now moving past my short introduction and into my topic:

One of the benefits at my place of employment is that I get to have a 4 week sabbatical this year.

My sabbatical starts tomorrow - for the first week I will be traveling on vacation and I will not be able to take my bass. :bawl: After my vacation I'll still have three weeks off from work and I look forward to spending some serious time with my bass.

I've been a little worried about that first week, though. I do not want lose the progress I've made with my new instrument.

Do you have any tips I could use to 'practice' without my bass while traveling?

Some ideas I have already:
    - bring my iPod listen and to the bass on the recordings, maybe even bring manuscript paper and try and transcribe some basslines
    - bring my Standing in the Shadows of Motown book and mentally 'practice' the transcriptions

2. transcription is always good... but man you can just have a week off and enjoy the break....
    or you can just listen to a bunch of music purely for enjoyment. develop a deeper hunger to play...