1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Velvet Anima vs EP Slaps

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by atlbassist1987, Nov 23, 2016.

1. Greetings to all! I have been using Velvet Animas for two years and they sound great on my bass. I'm going to keep them on for a little bit longer, maybe 3-6 more months.

I've put in an effort to read all of the threads about EP slaps and I have yet to find a direct comparison to Velvets. I'm inclined to stay with the Animas or try the Garbos, but I am very curious about a direct comparison between Velvet (Anima and Garbo) to the EP Slaps.

I play primarily jazz and gypsy jazz on the double bass. I would like to hear from fellow bassists about their experiences with these strings because the EPs have a great price point and people seem to love them.

Which string would you guys recommend? Which set is louder?

2. misterbadger

misterbadger Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2012
    Northern California
    I've had Garbos and am currently playing EP slaps. Garbos are louder and have more presence, slower decay of the note. Slaps aren't as loud, have a softer feel, play easily, and decay quickly after the initial attack. Very gut like and working well with my bluegrass/Americana mix. I'm enjoying the Slaps, but miss the big sound of the Garbos. Seems like everything's a trade off.

tonequixote, d.Fly and HateyMcAmp like this.
  3. HateyMcAmp

HateyMcAmp Supporting Member

Apr 13, 2006
    Denver, Colorado