Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warmoth....project! :)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sparkstertom, Jan 15, 2006.

1. sparkstertom

sparkstertom

Jan 14, 2006
    Hi,

Im considering building myself a Warmoth Gecko 6 string bass - absolutely beautiful guitars and I was wondering if anyother talkbassers have had recent experiences with them?

Im by no means a novice basser, but this is the first time I've delved into construction! Up until now the most challenging thing i've done is change the pickups in my oldest bass - Is this a 'doable' project? Theres a guy near me, whos a really good guitar tech - hes set up all my basses in the past - anyways! New member, would just like to get some info!

Fanx,

sparks*

ps - any replys gratefuly received! :)

2. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Hey man. Welcome to TB!

First of all, keep an eye out for Nino Valenti. He's a great guy and he builds basses for people off warmoth.com.

www.valentibasses.com is his website. Absoutely beautiful work. He's been talking with me about ordering parts and such. Becuase i want to assemble basses.

Any questions, feel free to ask!

Have fun, and good luck!

-Mark

3. I'm awating delivery of the parts for my 10th or so Warmoth project, and although I've never put together a Gecko, I assume it won't be too different from their other stuff.

Actually assembling the parts is not difficult at all, just a matter of drilling some pilot holes (very carefully so you don't scratch the finish!) and screwing it all together, but there are some "problem areas" you should be aware of: