1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Warwick basses, I have zero knowledge, educate me

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Helbent Revenge, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Helbent Revenge

Helbent Revenge

Feb 16, 2009
    Other than their outrageous prices, I don't know anything about them. I'm assuming they're top of the line, but how, why? Tell me everything I should know about them, their sound, tone, what music they're generally suited for, etc., anything. Thanks.

2. warwick.hoy

warwick.hoy

Aug 20, 2006
    Spokane, WA.
    Beta Tester: Source Audio.
    here come the do a search nazi's

Talkbass Warwick Club Thread

There are several parts to that.

In a nutshell I have a mid priced Warwick myself...$1500 in Y2K (check my profile). You can spend a lot more than that on a Warwick. I recall seeing a passive Corvette Standard priced around $7-800. They are supposed to cop a Jazz Bass vibe. Used market tends to be reasonable on bolt on models. Neck Thrus are alway going to be a bit pricier.

There are many models. Some are nods to Spectors. Some have their own character. When it comes to Thumbs a lot of people love them and a lot of people hate them. Complaints are often about weight and neck dive which is easily remedied with a wide sturdy strap.

I could go on and on, but the best advice I can give you is to go out and find a retailer try them out.

EDIT: Was there any thing in particular you were hoping to find out?

3. I play a P-nut II which is the best bass I have ever owned. My bass has a mm pickup and a jazz pickup both with open poles. The sound is bright the mids a great as well as the lows. Before you even plug a Warwick in you can hear the difference in the bass. Right now Musicians friend has some Fna 5 string basses by warwick for under a 1000.00 jump on one you will not regret it,trust me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:bassist:

4. Helbent Revenge