1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Weird discoloration on index fingertip

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by mert98, Sep 9, 2020.

1. mert98

mert98

Sep 9, 2020
    Hi guys,

I am new here and I created this account for this specific question. I couldn't find anything and I hope this is the right forum.

I've been playing for 2 years now. 3 days ago I played for like 2 - 3 hours straight fingers only and really hard as well. Yesterday I have noticed a weird discoloration on my index fingertip. I have no idea if maybe plucking too hard may have caused it. It doesn't hurt either. It just some weird brown spot and it looks like the skin might have been burned?

Here is a pic:

Anyone else had this before? Should I be worried?

2. Oddly

Oddly

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Welcome to TB!
    That's maybe a little internal bleed...or as you suggest a friction burn.
    Unless it starts spreading or blistering...or the fingertip falls off, I wouldn't worry!

What strings are you using? They new?

gebass6 and DJ Bebop like this.
  3. mert98

mert98

Sep 9, 2020
    Hello good sir, thanks for your reply :)

I am using 1 week old Rotosound RS66LD strings. I am a huge fan of geddy lee and I think I was digging in too deep. I had a flew blisters before but this is something new.

I wish you an amazing day!

4. Lagado

Lagado Inactive Suspended

Jan 6, 2020
    Looks like a little bruising rather than a full blood spot. This is just the beginning...

gebass6 and five7 like this.
  5. jeffb28451

jeffb28451 Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2006
    Leland NC