1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What are some tips to break down that wall that is holding you back?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Henry Luera, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Henry Luera

Henry Luera

Jan 10, 2018
    Hey! I wanted to know some tips and tricks that you may have discovered to get past that annoying phase in your bass career. You all know what I'm talking about.. That phase where you keeping playing the same lines and can't seem to add something new. I personally struggle with this issue. I find myself playing over backing tracks playing the same riffs or the same styled riff. I've been playing bass for approximately seven years. :help: :bassist:
  2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I'm not going to get the quote quite right, but jazz guitarist John McLaughlin said something on the order of: "think up something you cannot possibly play. practice it until you can". That usually does it for me.
    Mili, aesopslyre and Henry Luera like this.
  3. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Big Dogs Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    Evert, bholder and Henry Luera like this.
  4. A teacher. A teacher who plays better, and knows more than you do. Preferably one with university experience. Lacking that, contact the largest jingle studio in your city, and ask to contact their first call session guy.
  5. Henry Luera

Henry Luera

Jan 10, 2018
    kesslari likes this.
  6. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)