1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what back ups are most important ??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PATTY1, Mar 19, 2010.

1. PATTY1

PATTY1 Guest

Dec 28, 2009
    i have 1 bass, 1 head and 1 cab, as a gigging musician what is the most important peice of equpment that i should have a backup of and in what order if all require a back up ???

2. i usually dont have a back up for anything. for no other reason then i don't own one (except for bass, but I have 1 four and 1 5str)

as a guitarist I would never gig w/o 2 guitars. . . but string breakage on a bass is less likely. but 2 basses would be the 1st place i'd guess.

though that new little 250 watt micro head from GK might be a purchase for me at one point as a little back up head.

3. From personal experience I always pack one set of EXTRA STRINGS (high C's and F's for some reason only break during shows!), EXTRA CABLES, I have never had a cab or head go out on me before a show but I have had cables get kinked on the road and they didn't work when I got them to the stage, BATTERIES, once again like strings, batteries always go dead right before or during a show...

IF you can take an extra bass along I recommend it, it gives you a chance to pass the bass off to a friend or guitar tech to put in a new battery (always have a screw driver on hand too), or throw on a new string... It is super embarassing to have to carry on a set with a fading bass, or broken string...

4. melarson

melarson

Feb 11, 2009
    Minnesota
    If you've got a tube head a SS backup is not a bad idea.

5. Greevus

Greevus

Apr 15, 2009