WHAT BASS I SHOULD GET

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ryo_s_17, Jul 11, 2020.

1. ryo_s_17

ryo_s_17

Jul 11, 2020
    I am a high school jazz guitarist and I do a lot of covers and one-man bands. I am planning to buy an electric bass so I can play them on my music covers.

I like the sound of Jaco so I prefer the jazz bass over p bass.

My budget is under 150$. I don't care if the bass is new or used. Any suggestion on which bass I should buy on which website? It will be GREAT if you guys can help me!!

alanloomis1980 likes this.
  2. ejaggers

ejaggers Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2009
    Fort Worth, tx
    Welcome to Talkbass,

You're going to get way more help than you can handle.
    You say you're a guitarist but sounds like you're looking for a long scale bass.

If so, I have a Squire Affinity that has served me well, enough to mod the crap outta it.
    Some here have had bad luck with Affinity and I have no reason to doubt them, but I haven't.
    Maybe because I generally don't buy on-line.

If you're looking for a short scale try a Bronco.

Have you tried Craigslist?
    Have you tried Talkbass classified?

I've also heard good things about Glarry and SX but I'm never had one.

bassdude51 and alanloomis1980 like this.
  3. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    First, welcome to TalkBass!

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I'm afraid your budget is just not realistic. The quality of "inexpensive" basses has increased dramatically in recent years, but "inexpensive" is still considerably more than $150. You can get a lot more bang-for-your-buck by buying used, but unless you can buy locally the shipping cost alone is likely to be at least half of your budget. Plus, you'll need a bass amp: Have you figured that into your plan?

MynameisMe likes this.
  4. ryo_s_17

ryo_s_17

Jul 11, 2020