1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What bass is this?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by distantsun, Jan 15, 2017.

1. distantsun

distantsun

Jan 15, 2017
    Hello all,

I am completely new to the world of bass playing, and was thinking of diving in by looking at the basses played by my favorite band members. I was wondering what bass Nick Seymour is playing in this video (you get a pretty good look at it around 2:00). I really really like the tone of the bass here, granted it's not the best setup (he's playing the same bass here in a more conventional setup). I think it might be a Gibson, but I'm not sure? Obviously, I won't be able to afford the same bass, but could you please tell me what features I should be looking for in other basses that are similar to his? Thanks!

2. FantasticFour

FantasticFour

Dec 14, 2013
    Europeland
    Spector with a P/J configuration.
    Don't know your budget but the Legend series is modestly priced. Euro series is more expensive, and the USA series even more so.

3. Welcome to TalkBass!
    Here's a link to an old thread about this =D, Hope it helps. His recent photos show him with a Fender J

Nick seymour's bass?

4. tato62

tato62

Mar 3, 2014
    Montreal Can.
    spector

distantsun likes this.
  5. distantsun

distantsun

Jan 15, 2017
    Stupid question - what is a P/J configuration? :unsure:
    I will look into that, thanks - how would you say those stack up against a Fender Precision or Jazz bass?

6. distantsun

distantsun

Jan 15, 2017
    Thank you! I had a look at that thread earlier but for some reason had it in my head that he was playing a Gibson. He's one of my favorite bassists and a lovely person, to boot. :) I've only been into Crowded House for a few months, but those few months have been enough to spur me on to take up the bass!

7. FantasticFour

FantasticFour

Dec 14, 2013