1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

What Bass should I buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Robert Browne, Nov 9, 2020.

1. Robert Browne

Robert Browne

Nov 9, 2020
    I'm in the process of buying my "First" Bass even though i've been playing for more then 10 years. Time for the greatest lending gift to be upgraded.

I predominantly play in a Pentecostal church which always plays a mix of Rock, Contemporary Worship & Gospel. I want to get a 5 String & I like the idea of have dual hum bucker pickups (1 at Bridge & 1 at Neck)

Budget not really an issue but don't have loads of ££££'s

Any pointers in which route I should go down?
    I like the look of MusicMan Stingray & P Basses.

Any help would be muchly appreciated.

TIA

telecopy likes this.
  2. HELLonWHEELS

HELLonWHEELS Supporting Member

Jun 13, 2005
    Houston
    Tell us what you've played and liked. What did you like about them, for example I have a preference to having an narrow nut, but neck thickness doesn't really bother me. Some people don't like a gloss finish on the neck some don't care. Weight can also be contentious, do you have any weight requirements? Although looks aren't technically important, nobody really buys a bass they don't like the look of. Do you want something fender esque or more unique?

For dual humbucker 5 string, my mind instantly goes to Ibanez. They usually have decent electronics that will help you adapt to a wider variety of music types.