What do I need to know?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Alexander, Nov 30, 2003.

1. Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    I have been playing bass for around 2 1/2 years now and am looking to start lessons after the holidays. I have been playing in a rock/blues cover band and in church every week. I want to have in my mind what I want to get out of the lessons as I start talking to potential teachers. Here's what I have in mind so far:

Theory - Chords and Scales - With the church playing I am doing, I generally have to make the bassline up on the fly in arrangements I am unfamiliar with and in consistently changing keys. In most cases I haven't heard a recording of the song that would give me some ideas and a place to start. I have a VERY simple arpeggio (Root, 5th, Octave) that I use over the strummed chords, but I would really like to go beyond that to make things smoother and more interesting. I'd also like to throw some fills in there and also be able to create walking lines (use passing tones) between chords. Right now, I'm just not there.

Slapping - I've messed around with slap and really like it. I am getting the technique ok, but how to use it in the context of songs or create a slap bassline from scratch is beyond me right now. I want to get this down.

Ear Training - Not sure what a good instructor can do for me here, but I know I need this more. I especially want to be able to pick out intervals from songs on the radio, etc. so I can hear something easy-moderate and figure it out in a relatively short period of time.

Work through hard sections of songs - There are some songs I play that I may know 70% of, but have difficulty in spots. Would be nice to have someone who could help me get through these sections.