Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What should I do?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Koz, Feb 22, 2005.

1. Koz

Koz

Feb 22, 2005
    Hello
    I am new to the world of guitars and music in general. And I wanted to learn how to play. I am into Heavy Metal, so some people said I should learn to play bass, what do you guys recomend? Please recomend me some good-cheap equipment.
    Cheers
    Max

PS:How many strings does Steve Harris play?

2. Rockgurl

Rockgurl

Dec 17, 2004
    CT, USA
    Hi Koz. I've always loved Metal too. The best way to start learning is to listen to your favorite CDs and try to figure out and copy the basslines. It doesn't matter if you can't copy them exactly, but it helps you to understand the neck of the bass and where the major root notes are. Get yourself an instructional DVD to help you start...it's very useful. Iron Maiden is great band to start with because they have such melodic and prominent basslines. Steve Harris plays a 4-string Fender Precision and has a very unique style.

As for good equipment to start with, you could always start by buying used gear. If you prefer new, the best starter bass around is the Ibanez GSR200...really neat sound and slim fretboard. A bargain at $200. I can also recommend the Crate BT100 combo amp which is $300 new. Eventually when you join a band you'll need to upgrade as a 100w probably won't be enough power, but it's certainly good enough to start with. That way you can learn to play with reasonably good equipment and figure out what kind of sound and bass you eventually want. Hang around here long enough and you'll soon learn what's good and what's not.

Good luck! [​IMG]

3. jayzarecki

jayzarecki

Feb 23, 2005
    san diego, CA