1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What should my other fingers be doing?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DManTech, May 15, 2011.

1. DManTech

DManTech

May 13, 2011
    Hey guys, I'm sorry for the newb question but I'm new to bass (bought it today, I've got about an hour of playing time on it). I've played guitar for a few years but I know bass is a completely different beast.

Anyway, I noticed after a while that my ring and pinky fingers want to stay curled up into my palm--I tried to correct it, but it's really hard for me to keep them straighter and "loose". Is that how it's supposed to be, or do most people curl them in like I was doing?

2. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

Nov 17, 2010
    You mean on your plucking hand, right?

"Supposed to's" don't always exist, but there can be arguments for doing something one way over another. My non-plucking fingers (I generally use just the two, but occasionally the ring finger also) stay pretty much straight and move sympathetically with the others.

I get the sense that if you are curling yours up to your palm, you are putting tension on your muscles which may interfere with using the index and middle fingers. You may not notice it as you are learning and playing more slowly, but as you speed up and/or play for extended periods of time, you may find cramping in your hand and/or lack of dexterity in the two fingers you use to be an issue.

Or you may not.

3. DManTech

DManTech

May 13, 2011
    Yes, to clarify I meant on my plucking hand.

I was a little concerned about future cramping from tension, I know the goal is to be as relaxed as possible.

4. sammyp

sammyp

Aug 20, 2010
    NB, Canada