What size amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by willo_bass17, Aug 27, 2005.

1. I'm really new to playing bass in a band and i'm just wondering what size amp do u need to be able to hear the bass without having to play to hard.

Thanks Willo
  2. thejohnkim

Sep 30, 2003
    i prefer amps between 12" to 19" wide, 10" to 16" deep, 1-2 spaces tall.

3. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    What style, how loud and what equipment does everyone else use?
  4. It's typically 3.5 times the wattage of the guitarists amp. In SWR watts it would be about 5 times and in Mesa watts it would be about 2 times. :D So somewhere around 3.5 times.

After you take care of the wattage you need to pay attention to speakers/surface area. The number of speakers or the surface area of each will have the greatest impact on volume.

If you want a real complex answer, ask someone "what is the meaning of a 3dB increase?"

What is your current setup?
  5. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Start with 600 watts, and go up from there.

6. Or start with 750 SWR watts and move up to 360 Mesa watts (like me)...but I'm actually planning on getting a power amp soon.
  7. Do i need to have an amp that big if we are just practising?

Thanx Willo
  8. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Not normally. I know when my band practiced, I needed alot of volume though. Gigs require even more. If you want to be heard in a band situation without playing hard, you will need 600 watts or more.

Truthfully, there is alot of info missing from your question. What kind of music are you playing, how many band members, what are the guitarists using for amps, are you going to gig? There's more.

9. If you want a nice, little, cheap practice amp then I would recommend something Ibanez. I got my sw-20 (20 watts) with an 8 inch coaxial speaker for $100. It's fairly loud and has a bit of warmth to it. The next model up has much better bass response.