What to DO??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bowlcut7, Aug 3, 2004.

1. Bowlcut7

Aug 2, 2004
    Hey everyone. I have been looking into getting a bass guitar for sometime now. A couple years ago I was really close to buying one but decided not to. Oh, I have NO experience with an instrument whatsoever, I love music though which is why I even consider it. The question I had and I guess the reason I am so hesitant to buy one is that I am affraid that I may back out. I mean I won't be playing in a band, it would just be something fun to do in my free time and I was always interested in playing the bass. I just wanted to ask everyone if the bass was something that could be played alone and stay interesting and fun. I guess I have this image that the bass will get old for some reason if you dont play in a band, I have no idea why. Maybe because I listen to rock/punk rock and guitars usually dominate the scene. I would probably just be playing around trying to play tabs and making up some music as I go. Anyway, sorry if this has been covered, I searched and couldn't find anything. Thanks for your help in advance.

2. By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    Welcome to TB.

The bass is a great instrument on it's own.
    Whether it's just for fun or more of a serious venture.
    Is there any way you can borrow a bass from anybody you know?
    In alot of rock/punk settings the bass is pretty much buried and doesn't get the attention it deserves.
    There is alot of music out there which incorporates the bass as a major part of the music. Check the Recordings forum for some insight on song, bands etc which would give more of an idea of what the bass is capable of.
  3. AlexL

Jul 20, 2004
    I get asked that same question a lot from people who don't see how you can just play the bass without any accompanying instruments.

I have a few takes on the matter.

One, I enjoy playing along to CDs, so there is my "backing band".