What to Practice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ducehands, Feb 19, 2010.

1. Ducehands

Ducehands

Feb 17, 2010
    Good morning fellow bass players.

I am relatively new to the bass an I am having difficulty defining what to practice. I have read bass guitar for dummies and use study bass website, but other than practicing scales and chords I do not know what to practice. I hear that you should practice at least an hour a day, well after performing the scales I am done within 15 mins. Please assist me in defining a true practice routine, so I can become a well rounded bassists. Thank you in advance.
    P.S. I just ordered Bass Fitness Exercise Book.

2. Bootzilla

Bootzilla

May 4, 2009
    You could learn some songs from online tabs. In the early stages it's important to play a lot and to enjoy playing a lot (and to not create bad habits). Later on you could start on improv and playing from charts (you get the chord progression and you make up the bassline on the spot from the chords). You can start that by improvising a bassline of the blues progression in a random scale. Study bass has a lot of knowledge and presents it in a good way so keep reading it over and over and over till you can dream that stuff. Whats important tho is to get your technique down (having total control over every sound your bass makes and, more importantly, doesn't make) and enjoying it.

3. Minotauros

Minotauros

Nov 23, 2009
    Just play. Get some song sheets with the chords and play bass lines from them. No bass lines written? Learn chord triads and make your own bass lines. Take the root of the chord in each measure; or the R 3 or R 5 or R 3 5 (pretty much what Bootzilla said). Or if the chords in a progression share a note, keep pounding on that note.