1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What to use? Ampeg SVT-MIN VR is week.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MikeDePaola, Jun 5, 2011.

1. MikeDePaola

MikeDePaola

May 13, 2011
    Ringoes, NJ
    Hello All,
    I'm looking for some experinced opionions. I just started playing the bass a month ago. I've been using my son's PA system for amplification. Reading all this talk about tone I thought I'd get an amp instead. Well I made the mistake of getting the Ampeg SVT-MINI VR stack. The amp is week, thin and not what I'm looking for in tone. I hooked up a 12watt Tube amplifier (pilot SA-232) with EL84 tubes inplace of the Ampeg head amp and it sounded great warm fat tube sound yet still tight and dynamic. Obviously no power though. I think a 2x10 and a 1x15 cabinet will give me best of bright dynamics and deep lows but what about the head amp? Can you get all tube sound without a $2000 Tube amp? Mind you I'm not playing concerts here. Ampeg Pro? Do I really need to try everything in the guitar shop to find the sound I'm looking for?

2. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    Actually, that's your best bet...

3. Johno Dunn

Johno Dunn Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2007
    Carpinteria, Ca.
    Wanna sell the Micro stack?

J!

4. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    "All tube sound" is way too vague. What exactly are you looking for? Can you provide audio clips?
    Also, when it comes to bass cabs, don't "engineer by looks". A 1x15 doesn't necessarily mean that it "goes low". Most 4x10 cabs will slay 1x15s in the low end.

5. fenderhutz

fenderhutz Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2007
    Harpers Ferry WV