1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What tuner do you use in the studio

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by iriegnome, Apr 23, 2015.

1. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2001
    Kenosha, WI 53140
    Let me hear it.. What tuner do you use in a studio?
    I will be doing some long term studio recording and I will be plugging direct into the board.
    I need to buy a tuner like yesterday, but am not sure about what to buy. I have never worked fully in a studio before, so I am kind of clueless about this.
    I have a cheap pedal tuner and my live rig Korg. I am looking for something though to leave in the studio at all times and not move it. I am plugged into the board with cords that won't move either. I have a fully complete seperate set of everything for this.
    Just looking for any ideas as to a tuner for my needs.

2. bassmusic17

bassmusic17

Jan 15, 2011
    Just get one of those snark clip ons or a hand held tuner. I don't see why a pedal tuner would be necessary in the studio.

3. GBassNorth

GBassNorth

Dec 23, 2006
    SoCal
    In the studio the Snark blue body clip on works just fine. Either that or just tune to the piano.

4. iriegnome

Nov 23, 2001
    Kenosha, WI 53140
    See that is why I was asking. Never used one of those clip on things. Do they work well? How about for 5'ers?

5. I have one of the snark clip on tuners, it works ok on the 5 strings, although it depends a little on the bass how well the B picks up... it's harder to use on my warwick than it is on my stingray. Totally functional in both cases though. I use either that or a korg plug-in type tuner that I've had forever, it lives in the case. That little thing works great... Korg CA30

6. gregmon79

gregmon79 I did it for the muff... Supporting Member

Dec 20, 2012
    Chicago IL