1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What upright to buy for 2400$ Maximum ?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Nic_rip, Sep 28, 2008.

1. Hello,

this is my first post on talkbass.

I was wondering if anybody had suggestions here. I'm new to the double bass world, and I'm about to buy one pretty soon, and my budget doesn't go over 2400 $.

I am taking serious electric bass lessons, but would like to play some jazz.

Now... I live near Ottawa, Canada, and there's only one store selling double basses: Peter Dawson's violons.

The bass they have around my budget is a Shen DB150.

Do you think it's reasonable, at 2200$ ?

There are other stores in montreal and quebec city, but they have other models which I don't know of. All I know is that they're made in Germany, are hybrid, and cost a little less (1800$)

Should I consider more the price, or the place and service ??

Any advice is strongly appreciated, thank you!

2. I would consider the BASS itself. Get a DB teacher (or a serious DB player) to try out the bass you are interested in.

3. buddyro57

buddyro57 me and PJ (living with the angels now)

Apr 14, 2006
    Cedar Falls Iowa
    I would also point out that you will need service, so it might make sense to purchase the bass from someone who is reputable, has a good repairman, and who is more-or-less local. That should not be difficult living near a mertopolitan area. I think its a lot like buying a car, you also pay for the service; the store you buy it from will have more of a sense of oblgation to take care of you when you need it, and you will need it- maybe just for minor issues, but it will happen. It would be easy to check around to see if your store has a competitive price on the Shen.
    Good Luck!
    JS

4. Don C

Don C

Jan 13, 2007
    Victoria BC
    Nic

You might want to visit Peter Mach at 309 Eardley Rd in Aylmer.