1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what will I need to do this?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Armacielli, Apr 20, 2010.

1. Armacielli

Armacielli

Oct 16, 2008
    I'll have a Hofner Icon pick-up and a musicman style humbucker. I want to have a toggle switch w/ either
    -Icon
    -both
    -humbucker

-or-
    which do you think?
    -Icon
    -kill
    -humbucker

I know I'll need a three way switch, a jack and two pots for volume and tone but is there just some kind of all purpose wire I'll need to connect all these components or a specific kind? (I'm an electronics noob) first I need to find out what i need; then when it comes down to it I'll query the forum on how to wire it up to my desired switch configuration

2. 22AWG stranded copper wire works fine.

250K/500K pots, I would suggest a linear taper for the volume and an audio taper for the tone.

Also, a 0.047uF capacitor for the tone control.

3. Armacielli

Armacielli

Oct 16, 2008
    thanks, any input on switch configuration?
    and what's the difference b/w a 250K and 500K pot?

4. tubby.twins

tubby.twins Amateur Pickup Reviewer Gold Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2009
    Oregon
    I'm not a fan of having "kill" switches on a bass, for the simple reason that if you bump it when playing live, you could drop out your signal entirely. It could be a bit embarrassing when the band starts looking at you and wondering where the bass went!

A good A/B foot pedal (e.g. Morley) can serve as a kill switch, if you absolutely need one. This also makes it easier to change instruments without needing to reach over to the amp. I used one of these when playing live, before I bought an amp with a built-in "mute" switch.