1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Where to get my hands on an upright?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by superfunk47, Mar 9, 2008.

1. superfunk47

superfunk47

Sep 9, 2007
    Hey guys,

I'm new to upright (played BG for about 4 years) and am looking at buying one of my own. The only problem is my location; I'm in eastern Washington (Pullman, if you're curious...go Cougs...). I've been searching (newbie links, google, etc.) for a place that deals upright basses, but haven't found any closer to me than Seattle.

My question is this: is there any good way of finding a list of bass dealers, state by state?

I looked at a few sites like Engelhardt, and Upton to look for dealers but couldn't find any, and looked at Bob Gollihur's site and found a few in Seattle. I'd still prefer someplace closer, though, if it's possible.

So, any place I might look?
    Thanks in advance :)

2. superfunk47

superfunk47

Sep 9, 2007
    Forgot one thing -- I'm looking for places that have them in stock because I really want to feel one, touch it, before I buy it. Part of me just doesnt feel comfortable with laying down 1500-2000 clams for something I can't see or touch first.

3. jtallent

jtallent

Sep 15, 2007
    Mantua, NJ
    +1 ... Same boat here. I've been looking casually for a year or so but want to seriously investigate this. Tried to find luthiers/dealers in my area that carry a good selection of descent entry level basses (probably a hybrid) but I don't seem to be looking in the right spot for a good list (Searches and Bob's list haven't helped me either). The only person I've come across is Ken Smith that's even remotely close to Philadelphia.