Which flat wounds ?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Polaris, Oct 2, 2005.

1. Polaris

Oct 2, 2005

My name is Dave. I am a guitarist-recently-turned-bassist. I am looking for some insight into getting a vintage bass tone similar to what Jack Bruce had in the Cream era. I so far have been able to get a similar bass to the Gibson EB-3 (mine is a 1970's Japanese copy), a '68 Marshall Plexi head going through 12" speakers in closed back cabs. The sound is close but somehow it is missing that round thumpy quality.

I was thinking the strings I am using might be wrong, and was wondering if anyone knows what types of strings I might try? The bass I have came with roundwound strings which are the only ones I've even used, but from what I understand, flat wound strings were more the norm in the early/mid 1960's. Can someone recommend specific brands and/or diameters that would go well with this type of bass (30 inch scale) to get me that kind of sound? I went to juststrings.com and saw several brands that come in flats, but the string sets seem to vary a lot in terms of diameters and price.

Any insight most appreciated..

2. dunamis

Aug 2, 2004
    Try the Thomastik Infeld Jazz Flats. IMO, the best flat wound strings on the planet.

Others like the Labella's (the "Deep Talkin'" set, I think), but I haven't had success getting them to fit on a short scale bass. They seem to break easily if the bare string (without the silk wrapping) wraps around the tuner post. I should know-- I broke two (count 'em-- 2-- :scowl: )-- La Bella E strings this way!
  3. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    For that tone, I'd probably try some Fender flats. My personal favorites are the TI flats, but those are more middy, and Daddario Chromes, which have that deep low end, but are quite bright on the top end for flats .
  4. Labella Flatwounds. might be a bit more on the expensive side, but its worth every penny.
  5. jz0h4d

Apr 26, 2005
    Everyone knows that Jack used La Bella flats.